This year, the PRSA 2018 International Conference converged October 7-9 in Austin, Texas. Many PRSA Alaska Chapter members played a key role during the annual event. During the PRSA National Assembly, the chapter’s two assembly delegates, Heather Cavanaugh and Kirsten Schultz, provided key comments on six bylaw amendments up for consideration. Kristin Helvey represented Alaska as a delegate for the North Pacific District and Michelle Egan is a director on the PRSA board. Lifelong Alaskan and current chapter member, Mary Deming Barber, who now resides in the state of Washington, is co-chair of the governance committee and also provided feedback during the bylaw proposals. The Assembly is responsible for identifying, discussing and addressing issues of concern, and for serving as a liaison between the PRSA board and its chapters, districts, sections and membership. Two of the six bylaw amendments passed. To read the latest bylaws, view them on the PRSA website.

During the conference’s keynote opener, Alaska’s own Nance Larson received PRSA Chair’s Award for Exceptional Service for her work as Board of Ethics and Professional Standards (BEPS) chair. PRSA Chair Anthony W. D’Angelo said, “Two PRSA volunteers this year embodied that rare form of leadership in ways that inspired and instructed me, our board of directors and our staff leaders as well. Jessica Graham, APR, the chair of our National Governance Committee, and Nance Larsen, APR, Fellow PRSA, the chair of our Board of Ethics and Professional Standards (BEPS), spent more volunteer hours than they care to count making sure that our Society’s bylaws and policies and procedures, and our Society’s Code of Ethics would be advanced this year.”

Next year’s conference will be held in San Diego. Early bird sales have begun. To learn more, visit the PRSA website.