PRSA Alaska Communicator of the Year

The PR Communicator of the Year is the Alaska Chapter’s highest individual award. Created in 1993, the award is given to a PRSA Alaska Chapter member who has made significant contributions to the public relations profession and the community. 

The award is given based upon a clear demonstration of work in the following areas: 

  • Achievements: Detail the achievements of the nominee and demonstrate how these have advanced the profession of public relations and its positive visibility. 
  • Application: Show how the nominee has used public relations concepts and techniques to successfully solve problems or take advantage of opportunities. 
  • Accomplishments: List awards and other forms of recognition the nominee has received or public relations accomplishments, including being accredited (APR) and a member of the PRSA College of Fellows. 
  • Service to other organizations: Explain how the nominee’s involvement in professional and business organizations has advanced the profession of public relations and its visibility. 
  • Service to PRSA: Cite offices, committee assignments, and other examples of the nominee’s service to the Society. 

Any PRSA Alaska Chapter member may nominate the candidate for the award. 

Our 2019 Communicator of the Year was Michelle Egan, APR, Fellow PRSA. Michelle is the chief communications officer with Alyeska Pipeline Services Company.


  • A summary of qualifications, no longer than two typed pages, that includes specific examples of success (problem, solution and outcome) in each of the five areas listed above. PDF format only.
    Accepted file types: pdf, Max. file size: 250 MB.
  • Three letters that second the nomination. (Please note: no more than three letters of recommendation will be considered.) Each letter must be on letterhead and the body can be no longer than 500 words. The letters must specifically address the award criteria. At least one letter must be from a PRSA member. The letters must come from individuals separate from the nominator. PDF format only.
    Drop files here or
    Accepted file types: pdf, Max. file size: 250 MB, Max. files: 3.
    • No other information shall be considered. Any information sent that exceeds word counts, or is outside the above requirements will not be considered.

      There is no fee associated with nominating an individual for this award.