Communicator of the Year

The PR Communicator of the Year is the Alaska Chapter’s highest individual award. Created in 1993, the award is given to a PRSA Alaska Chapter member who has made significant contributions to the public relations profession and the community. The award is given based upon a clear demonstration of work in the following areas:

  • Achievements: Detail the achievements of the nominee and demonstrate how these have advanced the profession of public relations and its positive visibility.
  • Application: Show how the nominee has used public relations concepts and techniques to successfully solve problems or take advantage of opportunities.
  • Accomplishments: List awards and other forms of recognition the nominee has received or public relations accomplishments, including being accredited (APR) and a member of the PRSA College of Fellows.
  • Service to other organizations: Explain how the nominee’s involvement in professional and business organizations has advanced the profession of public relations and its visibility.
  • Service to PRSA: Cite offices, committee assignments, and other examples of the nominee’s service to the Society.

Nomination Procedure:

Any individual member of PRSA Alaska Chapter may nominate a candidate for an individual award. Each nomination must include a summary of qualifications, no longer than two typed pages, that includes specific examples of success (problem, solution and outcome) in each of the five areas listed above.

Each nomination must be accompanied by three letters that second the nomination. (Please note: no more than three letters of recommendation will be considered.) The letters need to specifically address the award criteria. At least one letter must be from a member of the Society. Each letter must be on letterhead and the body can be no longer than 500 words.

No other information shall be considered. Any information sent that exceed word counts, or is outside the above requirements will not be considered.


Judging Procedure:

The Individual Awards Committee will include at least three judges drawn from past presidents of the Chapter, at least two of whom must be APR. Recipients will be recognized during CommEx. Individual awards are given at the sole discretion of the judges.

Past recipients include:

Michelle Egan, APR, Fellow PRSA; Sarah Erkmann Ward, APR; Meadow Bailey, APR; Nance Larsen, APR, Fellow PRSA; Mary Deming Barber, APR, Fellow PRSA; Vivian Hamilton, APR, Fellow PRSA; Bruce Pozzi, APR, Fellow PRSA; Jeff Osborne; Todd Bulot, APR; Joette Storm, APR, Fellow PRSA; Nancy Killoran, APR; Natalie Lowman (Knox), APR; Marnie Brennan; George Mason; and Julie Hasquet.